REVIEW: Etude House Zero Sebum Powder


Etude House Zero Sebum Loose Powder is a medicated powder that claims to reduce oiliness while treating acnes. It’s always been compared to Innisfree No Sebum Powder but with the latter smaller in size and translucent. 

Zero Sebum comes in this small minimalist and simple round packaging that’s typical of a loose powder but with a cute puff inside. It’s priced at 300 pesos with 6g of product, kind of expensive for me for a loose powder but its actually cheaper than other brands. Bought this from EmShop at Shopee. πŸ™‚

The powder smells like tea tree oil but usually fades after application. The texture of the powder is very fine, similar to a flour. 

I have a very oily skin especially on my T-zone.I use this as a setting powder after applying BB cream and it gives you that smooth matte finish. I noticed that it has a white cast similar to the effect of baby talc powders (see image below). I use the puff to pour the products out and gently tap on the areas of my face where it usually oils up and spread it using powder brush. I also noticed that it tends to be drying and ended up setting into my pores, making it more visible. I guess I still need to learn how to flawlessly settle it. 


(White casts visible)

True to its name, there was zero oil on the areas I concentrated the powder but I felt like it dried my face so much that it settled immediately onto my dry patches. My BB cream also caked faster when I used this. 

For the first time, I didn’t like the drying effect it gives my skin. But since I used it over the weekends at the mall, the longevity wasn’t tested fairly since I was in an airconditioned environment.

The following day, I got to test it again, this time, I was at work and was exposed to the humid and excruciating heat outside. After 4 hours, I checked myself and found out that my t-zone was oily already. But other than that, the other areas of my face still looked okay. After another 4 hours, I checked myself and found out that my face was so oily and cakey! I retouched with the zero sebum and it actually made the situation worse. So don’t ever add another layer when your face is caking already. 😬

Final Verdict: 

  • Price? is okay
  • Longevity?-  it lasts a good portion of the day
  • Claims? it did stick-out to its claims especially on the no sebum part!
  • Good for sensitive skin? I did not have any breakout so its GOOD for sensitive and acne-prone skin
  • Will I repurchase? No.

 I think this is similar to the baby talc I used back in college. It has a white cast, which I don’t like. I might as well try other brands that offers a range of colors from translucent to brown pigments. But I love the smell and it feels like a doctor’s prescribed formula. But overall, I still like it even though I might not repurchase probably because of the price and it reminded me so much of baby talc powders. Sorry. πŸ˜…

2 Comments Add yours

  1. heyhunnyy says:

    aww im deff not gonna purchase if it has a white cast.. not tryna look like a ghost lol

    1. famae says:

      Sadly, it leaves a white cast. 😞

Leave a comment